721 N. Bryan Rd. Mission, TX 78572

Parks & Recreation

IMG_3253Brad Bentsen, CPTM


(956) 580-8760

About the Parks & Recreation Department

About the Parks & Recreation Department

The Parks and Recreation Department consists of  three divisions: Parks, Recreation and Aquatics. The maintenance and coordination of burials at 3 City Cemeteries also falls under the umbrella of Parks & Recreation. The Parks and Recreation Department has the responsibility of developing and maintaining 25 City Parks, 2 pools in the most cost effective manner possible. In addition, Parks and Recreation Staff is responsible for city-wide graffiti removal, right-of-way mowing, special events, and all recreational activities. The Parks Dept. also manages the Mission Hike & Bike Trails and coordinates any activity or event at that site.

Parks and Recreation Advisory Board

The Parks and Recreation Department currently has a 7 member appointed Board that assists with departmental recommendations. Current Board Members are:

Chairman Tony Guerrero, Chris Voss, Emir Elsayed, Jesus Mendiola,  Xavier Longoria, Maggie Guajardo Pena and Mark Minton.

The Parks and Recreation Board meets on the second Tuesday of each month at noon at the Adult Recreation Center located at 721 N. Bryan Rd. This meeting is open to the public.

City of Mission Parks & Recreation Summer Programs 2024


Rephrase with Ginger (Cmd+⌥+E)