1200 E. 8th St. Mission, TX  78572

Municipal Court Judge

Jonathan Wehrmeister
Phone: (956) 584-5150
Fax: (956) 584-5159


Graduated from Raymondville High School and with honors from the University of Texas-Pan American with a Bachelor’s degree in Political Science, and from the University of Houston Law School.

Work Experience

He has operated his own private firm, the Law Offices of Jonathan Wehrmeister, since 1995. He worked in the Hidalgo County District Attorney’s Office from 1999 to 2002, and in April 2002, was appointed Municipal Court Judge. In October 2002 he was appointed Presiding Municipal Court Judge.

About the Municipal Court

The Municipal Court is the local branch of the judicial system, which enforces criminal laws, traffic laws and municipal ordinances within the court’s jurisdiction. The court’s office hours are Monday through Friday 8 a.m to 4 p.m. The court remains open throughout the lunch hour to better serve the community.Our court primarily handles the following types of complaints filed against adults and juveniles:


Class C misdemeanor complaints, e.g., Assault, Disorderly Conduct, Criminal Mischief, Public Intoxication, Failure to attend school, etc.


Traffic tickets or citations issued by the Mission Police Department.

Municipal Ordinances

Complaints filed by our city’s Code Enforcement Officers or other city officials, e.g., Weedy Lots, Dog Violations, Junked Vehicles, Curfew, etc.


Municipal Judges also perform duties as magistrates for defendants arrested in the city of Mission. All Municipal judges perform weddings.  Municipal court does not have jurisdiction over small claims, civil lawsuits and land lord tenant cases.

Open Records Form: 

Public Information Request

For payments on citations for Mission Municipal Court, the number to call is 866-305-3559.
Weekdays from 8:00am – 7:00pm and Saturdays from 9:00am – 2:00pm.

To pay online: www.municipalonlinepayments.com

The court is located in the same building as the Police Department and its basic organizational structure is as follows:

Presiding Municipal Court Judge – Jonathan Wehrmeister
Municipal Court Judge – Mauro Reyna