Sharyland Independent School District (ISD) was created with the goal of providing the highest quality education possible for all students. The district is a 26-square-mile area located in Hidalgo County in the cities of Mission, McAllen, Palmview and Alton; Sharyland is named in honor of John H. Shary, who helped establish the area’s commercial citrus industry and served as school board president for more than 20 years. On March 10, 1921, the Sharyland ISD of Hidalgo County was created by a Special Act of the 37th Legislature of Texas.

From preschool to high school, Sharyland ISD leads the way for excellence in education. Serving more than 7,700 students, the school district employs over 925 professionals and support staff. A combination of progressive programs and initiatives, along with a back-to-basics philosophy, ensures that students succeed through their educational experience in Sharyland and are well prepared for success in college. Seventy-five percent of graduates continue their education at universities and 4-year colleges. In addition, 12% of graduates attend a junior college or vocational institution, and 4% of the student body joins the military. Sharyland ISD continues to dominate in academics (UIL and other national student organizations competitions), as well as in sports.

In order to achieve the goal of success for all students, a strong partnership exists between the Sharyland ISD schools and the community it serves. Parents, volunteers and business partners are all involved in the school improvement process. The Board of Trustees of the Sharyland Independent School District holds a firm belief in the concept of customer satisfaction. The Board and administration provide leadership and communicate a philosophy of customer satisfaction. They seek input on improving student achievement and ensure a school climate where courtesy, helpfulness and problem solving abound.

Sharyland ISD is a growing district. The district maintains a $56.5 million budget with revenue that comes approximately 46% from the state, 41.5% from local property taxes and 9% from federal programs. The district.s property tax rate is set at $1.565/$100 property value. One new elementary school was built with money that was saved from several years in the district.s fund balance. Other projects include a high school band hall, a junior high fine arts building, a field house and a junior high cafeteria. For 2005-2006, a new junior high and an elementary school were opened.

1106 N. Shary Road
Mission, TX 78572
Phone: (956) 580-5200
Fax: (956) 585-2972

List of Schools:

Lloyd and Dolly Bentsen
Elementary School

2101 S. Taylor Road
Bentsen Elementary
(956) 668-0426
Romulo D. Martinez Elementary
2571 East 4th Street
Mission, TX 78572
(956) 584-4900
B.L. Gray Junior High
1106 N. Shary Road
Mission, TX 78572
(956) 580-5333
Ruben Hinojosa Elementary School
4205 Los Indios Road
Mission, TX 78572
(956) 584-4990
Jessie L. Jensen Elementary
N. Glasscock Road & Mile 5 ½
Mission, TX 78572
(956) 580-5252
Sharyland High School
1106 N. Shary Road
Mission, TX 78572
(956) 580-5300
John H. Shary Elementary
2300 N. Glasscock Road
Mission, TX 78572
(956) 580-5282
Sharyland North Junior High
5100 Dove Avenue
McAllen, TX 78504
(956) 686-1415
Olivero Garza, Sr. Elementary
Taylor & Mile 5 Road
Mission, TX 78572
(956) 580-5353
Donna Wernecke Elementary
4500 Dove Ave.
McAllen, TX 78504
(956) 928-1063
Harry Shimotsu Elementary
3101 San Mateo
Mission, TX 78572