“Founded in 1993, South Texas College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award baccalaureate and associate degrees. More than 34,000 students attend STC, and a faculty and staff of more than 1,600 serve STC’s five state-of-the-art campuses, two teaching centers and one virtual campus.

South Texas College was created on September 1, 1993, by Texas Senate Bill 251 to serve Hidalgo and Starr counties. A confirmation election, held on August 12, 1995, established a taxing district for the college. Seven districts, based on population, were also approved for single-member representation on the Board of Trustees. A community leader from each of the seven districts was originally appointed by Governor Ann Richards to serve on the founding Board of Trustees. Since then, elections have been held for all of the seats, and all members have been elected as of May 2002.

South Texas College is a model of collaboration with public schools and has one of the largest dual enrollment programs in the state of Texas. A variety of dual enrollment programs have been instituted, including five academies, drop-out recovery programs and other unique initiatives with 24 school districts, and over 78 high school sites throughout Hidalgo and Starr counties. The programs allow eligible students to take college courses while attending high school. Combined, over 15,000 students are currently enrolled in these programs. Since 2003, South Texas College has provided tuition-free dual enrollment to over 91,000 students; saving families over $100 million.

In addition, South Texas College leads the nation in the number of Early College High School partnerships developed with area Independent School Districts. This includes 28 Early College High Schools and two Career and Technical Early College High Schools.” – South Texas College Website.

3201 W. Pecan Blvd.
McAllen, TX 78501
(956) 631-4922