NOTICE OF SPECIAL MEETING MISSION CITY COUNCIL JUNE 18, 2018 3:00 P.M. MISSION EVENT CENTER

PRESENT:

Norie Gonzalez Garza, Mayor Pro Tem Jessica Ortega-Ochoa, Councilwoman Ruben D. Plata, Councilman Dr. Armando O'caña, Councilman Abiel Flores, City Attorney Anna Carrillo, City Secretary Martin Garza, Jr., City Manager

ABSENT:

Norberto Salinas, Mayor

ALSO PRESENT:

Omar Romero

Mario Lopez Yvonne T. Perez Oscar D. Montoya Jesus Lopez Nancy Cuellar Anayed Sandoval Aida Salinas Flores Espie Ochoa Lorie Garcia Rachel de la Garza Joe M. Garza Marlon Martinez **Nancy Rios** Alex Garcia Charles Lopez Joe Cortez Melinda Barrs Juan de la Garza Javier Barrera Mari Gonzalez Norma Martinez Joann Ortiz Melanie Leo Kenneth A. Foster Victoria Cantu Anita Sandoval Mellie Saldana Juan A Guajardo Crystal Barajas Renae Villalobos Juan Villalobos Oscar Madrigal Marilee Hinojosa-Diaz Dr. A.C. Pruneda Ramiro & Marisa Garza Elette Garza Adam Garza Reynaldo Cedillo Melissa Leo Aleda J. Reyes Sergio Munoz, Jr. **Anabel Cavazos** Alex Leal Nora Longoria JJ Ponce Catarina Alvarado J. Guadalupe Reyes R. Esqueda Rigo Lopez Ramon Segovia Armin Garza Juliana O. Garza David de los Santos Matt Ruzczak Linda Segundo Pete Segundo Luis Perez Antonia del Barrio **Tony Martinez** Marcelino Ornelas Mateo Ojeda Joanne Hernandez Jesus Alaniz Arturo Magallan Everardo Bomez, Jr. Lupita Gomez Maria Teresa Garza Millie Garcia Johnathan O'cana Amanda O'cana Ramiro J. O'cana Anna Lucia Rivera Jose R. Mata Miguel Flores JJ Pena Ismael A. Martinez

Laurencio Ballera

STAFF PRESENT:

Nelia Hernandez, Asst. City Secretary Randy Perez, Deputy City Manager Elizabeth Hernandez, Executive Secretary Jaime Acevedo, Planning Director Virgil Gonzalez, Asst. Planning Director Robert Hinojosa, Risk Manager Eduardo Belmarez, Purchasing Director Roland Rodriguez, I. T. Director Charlie Longoria, Media Relations Juan Pablo Terrazas, City Engineer Roberto Salinas, Public Works Director Gilbert Sanchez, Fire Chief Robert Dominguez, Chief of Police Brad Bentsen, Parks & Recreation Director Mayra Rocha, Library Director Cynthia Lopez, Museum Director Adela Ortega, Food Pantry Manager **ALSO PRESENT:**

Kelly R. Salazar Aleda J. Reyes Jocelyn Rios Vanessa N. Hernandez Yolanda Ayala Andres Palma Xavier Longoria Rosa Madrigal Dora G. Aguilar Kelly Rodriguez Janie Flores Rene Flores Martin S. Volpe Aurora Martinez Diana Izaguirre Hector Moreno Sergio Coronado Benjamin Guerra Berta F. Perez Joel Garcia Antonio O'cana IV Milagro Sonia Chris Ojeda Belen Ornelas Sabas Sandoval, Jr. Leticia Flores Maria L. Guerra Hermelinda Magallan Juan Garza Licha Garza Jorge Martinez Randy Sanchez Valentin Ocana A. O'cana Albert M. Pena **Hector Olivarez** Joe Louis Sanchez Dora O. Sanchez Felipe Quintanilla Rick Venecia Maria Ester Salinas Vangie Garza

Minutes, 06/18/18 Pg. 2

Luis E. Lopez	Bradley Lopez	Jose Renteria, Jr.	Roy Vela
Bernie Pena	Bibi Pena	Alex Guerra	Ramiro Castillo
Yolanda Garza	Irma Garza	Adela C. Lopez	Noe Escamilla
Jerry Perez	Mike Robledo	Brenda Diaz	Liz Salinas
Eudelia Ortegon	Javier Ortegon	Marcelina Reyes	Juana Ortega
Robert A. Salinas	Leti Salinas	Victor O'cana	Teishi Rocha
Letty Castaneda	Irma Flores Lopez	Flora Flores	Johnny Valdez
Maria O'cana	Ned Sheats	Thelma Garza	Agapita Pulido
Rolando Puente	Joe Macias	Mark Delgado	Missy Delgado
Patty Y. O'cana Olivarez	Rebecca Alvarez	Rene Alvarez	Janie Barratachea
Elizabeth Segovia	J. R. Flores	Ramon Rosales	Doreen Rosales
Lupita Reyes	Idolina Salinas	Roberto Salinas	Isabel Aranda
Scandia Barrera	Brenda Portillo	Greg Martinez	Blanca Martinez
Pete Jaramillo	Connie Garza	Rolando Gonzalez	Norma Linda Vega
Gloria Martinez	Vidal Quintanilla	Hector Hernandez	Nora L. Hinojosa
Alma R. Venecia	Rene Lopez, Jr.	Kassandra Balderas	Jorge A. Balderas
Rosa M. Barrera	Lupita Ramirez	Laooz Hinojosa	Santos Ramirez
Kenny Ponce	Iselda Garza	Rosario Alaniz	Cita G. Jimenez
Maria J. Rendon	Luis Ortega	Petra Ramirez	Sylvia Caratachea
Yolanda Benavidez	Sonia Trevino	Ileana Parras	Adela Parras

1. Call to order

With a quorum being present, Mayor Pro Tem Norie Gonzalez Garza called the meeting to order at 3:08 p.m.

2. Canvass Election Results of Runoff Election of June 9, 2018

City Secretary, Mrs. Anna Carrillo read the election results for Mayor and Council Place Four.

• MAYOR

Norberto "Beto" Salinas	3318
Armando "Doc" O'cana	3475

COUNCIL. PLACE FOUR

Gus Martinez	3448
Julian J. Gonzalez	3131

3. Approval of Resolution # $\underline{1554}$ accepting the results of the Runoff Election of June 9, 2018

This resolution formally canvasses the election and declares Dr. Armando O'caña to have been elected Mayor and Gus Martinez to have been elected City Councilmember for Place Four on the City Council for the City of Mission, Texas.

Staff and City Manager recommended approval.

Councilman Ruben Plata moved to approve Resolution No. 1554 canvassing the election results of the Runoff Election as recommended. Motion was seconded by Councilwoman Jessica Ortega-Ochoa and approved unanimously 4-0.

RESOLUTION NO. <u>1554</u>

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MISSION, TEXAS CANVASSING RETURNS OF THE RUNOFF ELECTION OF JUNE 9, 2018 AND DECLARING THE RESULTS OF THE ELECTION FOR MAYOR AND COUNCIL, PLACE FOUR

4. Swearing in of Elected Officials and Administer Oaths of Office

Municipal Court Judge Patty O'cana Olivarez swore in Gus Martinez as Councilwoman Place Four.

Councilman Martinez then thanked his family, and the citizens of Mission for all their support and he looked forward serving the citizens of Mission.

Municipal Court Judge Patty O'cana Olivarez swore in Dr. Armando O'caña as Mayor.

Mayor O'caña then thanked God, his family and the citizens of Mission for all their support and for the opportunity to serve as Mayor; he looked forward serving the citizens of Mission.

5. Adjournment

At	3:34	p.m.,	Mayor	Pro	Tem	Garza	moved	for	adjournment.	Motion	was	seconded	by
Coi	ınciln	nan Pla	ata and a	ppro	ved ur	animou	ısly 5-0.						

ATTEST:	Dr. Armando O'cana, Sr. Mayor
Anna Carrillo, City Secretary	