### NOTICE OF SPECIAL MEETING MISSION CITY COUNCIL MAY 14, 2018 3:30 P.M. MISSION CITY HALL

#### **PRESENT:**

#### **ABSENT:**

Norberto Salinas, Mayor Jessica Ortega-Ochoa, Councilwoman Ruben D. Plata, Councilman Norie Gonzalez Garza, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Armando O'caña, Councilman Abiel Flores, City Attorney Anna Carrillo, City Secretary Martin Garza, Jr., City Manager

#### **ALSO PRESENT:**

Cristina Ojeda George G. Davis Uriel Garcia Letty Castaneda Elia Ochoa Espie Ochoa Maria Ester Salinas **Gus Martinez** Patty O'cana Olivarez Hector Olivarez Amy Ortega Luis Ortega Lupita O'cana Veronica O'cana Laura Ojeda Toni Chapa Aida Salinas Flores Carina Garza de Luna Aissa Garza

#### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Nelia Hernandez, Asst. City Secretary Aida Lerma, Deputy City Manager Randy Perez, Deputy City Manager Elizabeth Hernandez, Executive Secretary Jaime Acevedo, Planning Director Virgil Gonzalez, Asst. Planning Director Robert Hinojosa, Risk Manager Eduardo Belmarez, Purchasing Director Roland Rodriguez, I. T. Director Charlie Longoria, Media Relations Juan Pablo Terrazas, City Engineer Roberto Salinas, Public Works Director Jesse Lerma, Civil Service Director Gilbert Sanchez, Fire Chief Robert Dominguez, Chief of Police Joanne Longoria, CDBG Director Brad Bentsen, Parks & Recreation Director Mayra Rocha, Library Director Cynthia Lopez, Museum Director Adela Ortega, Food Pantry Manager

#### 1. Call to order

With a quorum being present, Mayor Norberto Salinas called the meeting to order at 3:33 p.m.

#### 2. Canvass Election Results of General Election of May 5, 2018

City Secretary, Mrs. Anna Carrillo read the election results for Mayor, Council Place One, Three and Four.

MAYOR	
Jaime Gutierrez	519
Norberto "Beto" Salinas	3085
Armando "Doc" O'cana	2571
COUNCIL. PLACE ONE	
Henry Rodriguez	2741
Jessica Ortega-Ochoa	3252
	Jaime Gutierrez Norberto "Beto" Salinas Armando "Doc" O'cana <b>COUNCIL. PLACE ONE</b> Henry Rodriguez

•	COUNCIL, PLACE THREE	40.50
	Norie Gonzalez Garza	4853
•	COUNCIL. PLACE FOUR	
	Gus Martinez	2144
	John R. "Doc" Guerra	1286
	Julian J. Gonzalez	2487

# 3. Approval of Resolution # <u>1545</u> accepting the results of the General/Special Election of May 5, 2018

This resolution formally canvasses the election and declares Jessica Ortega-Ochoa and Norie Gonzalez Garza to have been elected City Councilmembers for Place One and Place Three, respectively, on the City Council for the City of Mission, Texas. The election for Mayor and City Council Place Four has been declared to be in a runoff.

Staff and City Manager recommended approval.

Councilman Ruben Plata moved to approve Resolution No. 1545 canvassing the election results of the General Election of May 7, 2018 as recommended. Motion was seconded by Mayor Pro Tem Norie Gonzalez Garza and approved unanimously 5-0.

# **RESOLUTION NO.** <u>1545</u>

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MISSION, TEXAS CANVASSING RETURNS OF THE GENERAL ELECTION OF MAY 5, 2018 AND DECLARING THE RESULTS OF THE ELECTION FOR MAYOR AND COUNCIL, PLACES ONE, THREE AND FOUR

# 4. Swearing in of Elected Officials and Administer Oaths of Office

Municipal Court Judge Gus Martinez and Ralph Ochoa swore in Jessica Ortega-Ochoa as Councilwoman Place One.

Councilwoman Ochoa then thanked God, her family and the citizens of Mission for all their support and she looked forward serving the citizens of Mission.

Judge Letty Lopez swore in Norie Gonzalez Garza as Councilwoman Place Three.

Councilwoman Garza then thanked, her family, and the citizens of Mission for all their support and she looked forward serving the citizens of Mission.

# 5. Adjournment

At 3:53 p.m., Councilman Plata moved for adjournment. Motion was seconded by Councilwoman Ochoa and approved unanimously 5-0.

Norberto Salinas, Mayor

ATTEST:

Anna Carrillo, City Secretary