

CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING **MISSION EVENT CENTER** JUNE 20, 2022 at 4:30 PM

MINUTES

PRESENT:

Dr. Armando O'caña, Mayor Jessica Ortega, Mayor Pro Tem Ruben D. Plata, Councilman Alberto Vela, Councilman Gus Martinez, City Attorney Randy Perez, City Manager Anna Carrillo, City Secretary

ABSENT:

Abiel Flores, Councilman

STAFF PRESENT:

ALSO PRESENT:

Norie Gonzalez Garza Carina Garza de Luna Aissa Garza Kevin Sanchez **Hector Cavazos** Henry Rodriguez Roberto Gonzalez Jaime Flores **Beth Barnes** Jorge Badillo Jorge Flores Richard Vela, Jr. Gloria Sanchez David Escalera Juan Chuy Hinojosa Rigo Garza Michelle Vallejo Luis A. Ortega Amy Ortega Ralph Ochoa Luis Ortega, Jr. Jaime Martinez Iliana Cervantes Eduardo Gonzalez Marsha Terry Narcisco Solis **Javier Dimas** Paola Lopez Mauro Reyna Maria Elena Ramirez **Noel Salinas** Robertha Garza Alberto Solis

Brenda Sifuentes

Kane Dawson

Michael Howell Monica Rodriguez Diana Lerma Gabrielle Lerma Sujei Rodriguez Jenny Cummings Alex Leal Randy Alvarez Jessica Guerra Carlos Marin Joyce Rogers Everardo Villarreal Danny Sanchez Juan Olaquibel Lita Leo Paty Garza Kirby Chandler Julissa B. Martin Frank Cadena

Melanie Turrubiates ALSO PRESENT:

Obed Jimenez Victoria Vargas Hector Gonzalez **Gary Langston** Ethan Yoo Esmeralda Solis Miguel Kramer CJ Sanchez Terry Palacios Blanca Perez Zoe J. Alaniz Vanessa Avendano Robert Hinojosa Robert Saenz Berenice Garcia Estella Saenz

Nellie Hernandez, Asst. City Secretary David Flores, Asst. City Manager Juan Pablo Terrazas, Asst. City Manager Michael Elizalde, Grants Administrator Susie De Luna, Planning Director Roxanne Casarez, Public Information Director Peter Geddes, Procurement Director Charlie Longoria, Media Relations Alex Fajardo, Media Relations Roel Mendiola, Sanitation Dept. Director Rene Alvarez, Asst. Fire Chief Cesar Torres, Chief of Police Joanne Longoria, CDBG Director Mario Flores, Golf Director Rick Venecia, Boys & Girls Club Director Brad Bentsen, Parks & Recreation Director Adela Ortega, Food Pantry Manager Esther Pena, Deputy City Attorney

Rene Barrera Oscar L. Cardenas Ronnie Ontiveros Rosario Vazquez Cesar Gutierrez Alma Garcia Luis Cant Yanette Cant Jose Garza Maria Garza Angie V. Perez Mike Sanchez Julio Cerda Araceli Montes Jerry Zamora Joel Garza Manuel de la Garza Ted Venecia Lydia Sguitera Jessica Iglesias J. Magallan Marlen Canales Marco Benitez Raul Garcia Karly Ponce Kristina Silva B. Enriquez Laura Ojeda Toni Chapa

Luisa Rivera Richard Reyna Yvonne Lopez Richard A. Cruz Kathy Brown Victor Anzaldua Willow Connelly David de los Santos Leopoldo Garza Scot Gerlach Joel A. Gonzalez Jose "Pepe" Garcia Olga Garza Maribel Resendez Lupita Gomez Jane McGee Samuel Garcia Judge Lety Lopez Belinda Munoz Garza Leroy Cadena Richard F. Cortez Aisha Gonzalez Christine Barrera Herman Garza Joaquin Longoria III Laura J. Flores Charles Ike Austin Tina Ramirez Sylvia Cantu

Tony Castillo Dolores Reyna Fidel Gonzalez III Marianna Wright Pat Townsend, Jr. Mario Lizcano Mariana Abdullah Irma Flores Lopez Lety Garcia Kyle Gerlach Mari Gomez Carlos Ortega Magdalena Lopez Adan Barrera Hector Hernandez **Homer Salinas** Jayden Garcia Raul Lopez, Jr. Ciro Ochoa Wm. Carl Davis Arnold Padilla Rolando Reyna Roberto Montoya Sharon M. Garza Roxanne Mendez Ceci Garcia Paul Villarreal Yaya Garcia Juan Eliseo Gonzalez Amy Gonzalez Belinda Lopez

Oscar Martienz Diane Cremar Joe Gonzalez Julio Villarreal Noemi Munguia Jesus T. Lopez Norma Garcia Hilda Flores Melissa Cerda Selinda Ortega Janie G. Connelly Jaime Garza Sonia M. Trevino Marco Gonzalez Kassandra Lerma Ruth Garcia Joshua Garcia Justin Longoria Lillian Ochoa Efrain Reyna, Jr. Johnny Sifuentes Patricia Escobedo Moy Iglesias Irene Garza Nelda Martinez Thelma Olivarez James Cardoza Marco de Luna Belinda Garza

Missye Martinez Leroy Cremar Santy Gonzalez Domingo de la Garza Dee Rendon Ruby Perez Deborah Cordova Elizabeth Garza Marissa Gerlach Lety Ibarra Kevin P. Connelly Eluid Lopez Damian Ibarra Everardo Gomez Anais Chapa Eric Garcia Jorge Carcia Robert Lopez J.D. Villarreal Art Garza III Belinda Sifuentes Behrooz Bodiozzamani Iris Iglesias Janie Alaniz Toro Martinez Raguenel Austin Liza Salinas Jesus Cantu Susan Lopez

CALL TO ORDER

Baldo Cervantes

With a quorum being present, Mayor Armando O'caña called the meeting to order at 4:36 p.m.

INVOCATION AND PLEDGE ALLEGIANCE

Fr. Roy Snipes from Our Lady of Guadalupe Catholic Church led the invocation. City Manager Randy Perez led the Pledge of Allegiance.

AGENDA ITEMS

1. Approval of Resolution # 1780 of the City Council of the City of Mission, Texas Canvassing and Declaring the results of the General Runoff Election of June 11, 2022 for Mayor and Council Place One

City Secretary, Anna Carrillo read the election results for Mayor and Council Place One **MAYOR**

Norie Gonzalez Garza 3946 Armando "Doc" O'cana 3103

FOR COUNCIL, PLACE ONE

Moises "Moy" Iglesias 3274 Jessica Ortega 3671

Resolution formally canvasses the election and declares Norie Gonzalez Garza to have been elected Mayor, and Jessica Ortega to have been elected Councilmember Place 1 on the City Council for the City of Mission, Texas.

Staff and City Manager recommended approval.

Mayor Pro Tem Jessica Ortega moved to approve Resolution No. 1780 canvassing and declaring the election results of the General Runoff Election of June 11, 2022 as recommended. Motion was seconded by Councilman Ruben Plata and approved unanimously 4-0.

RESOLUTION NO. 1780

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MISSION, TEXAS CANVASSING AND DECLARING THE RESULTS OF THE GENERAL RUNOFF ELECTION OF JUNE 11, 2022 FOR MAYOR AND COUNCIL PLACE ONE

2. Swearing in of Elected Officials and Administer Oath of Office

Mayor Pro Tem Ortega recognized the outstanding achievements of Mayor O'cana. Two plaques were presented the first was for his leadership during his tenure of Mayor. The second plaque was a key to the city for serving as Councilman and Mayor for a total of 16 years.

Mayor O'cana thanked his family, the citizens of Mission who voted for him for all of their support. He also wished incoming Mayor Norie Gonzalez Garza the best of luck.

Sonia Trevino, Justice of the Peace, Pct. 3 swore in Jessica Ortega as Councilwoman Place One.

Councilwoman Ortega thanked God, her family, and the citizens of Mission for all their support in electing her and she looked forward serving all the citizens of Mission for another four years.

Letty Lopez, 389th District Court Judge swore in Norie Gonzalez Garza as Mayor.

Mayor Garza thanked God, her family, and the citizens of Mission for all their support in electing her and she looked forward serving all the citizens of Mission.

ADJOURNMENT

At 5:09 p.m., Councilman Plata moved	l for adjournment.	Motion was	seconded by	/ Mayor	Pro
Tem Ortega and approved unanimously	/ 4-0.				

	Norie Gonzalez Garza, Mayor
ATTEST:	
Anna Carrillo, City Secretary	